You may pay your PLF assessment by one of the methods listed below. The PLF accepts the following forms of payment: check, money order, e-check, or debit/credit card.

If you have previously been exempt from PLF coverage and are now entering private practice with a principal office in Oregon, you will need to activate your PLF coverage. Click here to activate coverage.


Pay With Quick Pay

With PLF Quick Pay, you can enter your banking information for electronic payment delivery. There are no fees or login requirements, and you can pay for multiple bar numbers with one eCheck. Transactions can be completed up to 11:59 p.m. (Pacific Time) on the due date of your assessment, and you will receive an email confirmation. 

PLF Quick Pay (eCheck only)»

Pay Online

You may pay your PLF assessment online by e-check, credit card, or debit card. There is no charge for these transactions. Please be sure to have all bank and/or credit card information ready before proceeding with the online payment. Once your payment has been submitted, you will receive a confirmation email from the PLF. All PLF terms and conditions apply to electronic transactions. All payments will be processed on the date received.

Login to Pay Assessment Now »             

Pay in Person 

You may also pay in person at 16037 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road, Ste. 300, Tigard, OR 97224 from 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. A drop box is also available located at the NW corner of the building.

Pay by Mail 

You may also pay your PLF assessment by mail. If paying by mail, please note that your payment and remittance stub must be physically received on the billing statement default date. Postmarks are not proof of timely payments. If you are mailing your payment, be sure to allow at least 10 business days prior to the deadline for it to reach us timely. Please note that we have been advised by the U.S. Postal Service that Priority and Express mail delivery is not guaranteed.  For overnight deliveries via UPS or FedEx, please use the following delivery address: 16037 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road, Suite 300, Tigard, OR 97224.

Installments and Other Notes

Under the law and applicable policies, the PLF is required to verify by the billing statement default date whether or not an OSB member is engaged in private practice in Oregon. There is an added administrative cost to the PLF in handling the accounts of OSB members who do not respond by the deadline. A late payment charge of $100 per month is imposed against Bar members who are in default.
You may be eligible for an installment payment plan offered by the PLF. Installment options are based on the number of months you require coverage. OSB members needing coverage for the entire plan year are eligible for a four-part installment option. The default dates are as follows: January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10. If the default date falls on a weekend or holiday, it will be moved to the next business day.  

OSB members will receive a quarterly installment statement for each quarter in which it is due. Bar members are granted a grace period of one month after the initial installment default date to sign up for the installment plan, but they will be charged a late payment fee. If payment has not been received by the one-month deadline, installment payments are no longer an option. 
If you activate your coverage after January 1, you may be eligible for a two-part or three-part installment option, depending on the date and timing of your activation. Your billing statement will be prorated and a step-rated credit, if applicable, will be applied on your assessment. Coverage is prorated by month; if you work one day in a month, you will need coverage for that month. 
If your PLF billing statement default date falls after June 30, the installment option is not available.
If you select the installment payment option, a nonrefundable service charge will be added to your assessment and must be paid along with your assessment by the default date indicated on your billing statement. The service charge includes a $10 administrative fee plus a lost revenue interest charge calculated by quarter, rounded to the nearest whole dollar. (The breakdown of charges per quarter based off the annual assessment is zero monies owed for the first quarter, $44 for the second quarter, $29 for the third quarter, and $14 for the fourth quarter.) The lost revenue interest rate is calculated at an investment rate of return of 7%. 
On occasion, OSB members who should claim exemption from PLF coverage pay the annual assessment in error. This can include Bar members who engage only in exempt activities, who are not engaged in the private practice of law, or whose principal office is outside Oregon (pursuant to ORS 9.080(2)(c) and PLF Policy 3.180). OSB members are expected to be familiar with the rules governing PLF coverage, and those who pay the assessment in error will not receive any coverage as a result. If you have paid a PLF assessment in error, you are entitled to receive a refund for the current plan year and the prior plan year assessments paid in error. You will not be refunded installment service charges or late fees. No more than two plan years will be included in the refund calculation. Please contact the Accounting Department for assistance.