OSB Professional Liability Fund

The PLF Welcomes New Board Members in 2020

December 2, 2019

The PLF is pleased to announce that Oren B. Haker (Portland), Steve Hill (Pendleton), and Public Member Michael B. Batlan (Salem) have been appointed as new board members effective January 1, 2020.  Mr. Batlan's term will expire at the end of 2023.  Mr. Haker and Mr. Hill's terms will expire at the end of 2024.

Oren B. Haker (Lawyer Member) – Portland
Oren Haker is a bankruptcy lawyer at Stoel Rives in Portland.  He joined the firm in 2012 after moving from New York City where he worked at Weil, Gotshal & Manges and Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft.  Before that, he practiced business bankruptcy in New York City at two large firms.  He graduated from Columbia Law School in 2003.  He currently serves on Stoel Rives’ ethics/quality assurance committee.  Oren is an adjunct professor for the University of Washington School of Law and is a regular speaker at regional and national conferences focusing on bankruptcy and related issues.

Steve Hill (Lawyer Member) – Pendleton
Steve Hill is a plaintiff’s lawyer who has practiced in Pendleton for 25 years. He is a member of ABOTA, the American Association for Justice and is a former board member of the Oregon Trial Lawyer’s Association.  Mr. Hill was born in Chicago and raised in Minneapolis.  He graduated from the Case Western Reserve University School of Law in 1993 and has a BA in English from Oberlin College.  He is a past president of the Pendleton Rotary Club.

Michael B. Batlan (Public Member) – Salem
Michael’s professional career has mostly been as a Chapter 7 and Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Trustee.  He retired in 2017.  Although not an attorney, he has worked with attorneys his entire professional career.  He is also “surrounded” by lawyers at home.  His wife, Kathy Evans, is an estate planning lawyer in Salem and a former BOG president.  His daughter is also a practicing lawyer.  He has an MBA from Willamette University (1981) and a BS in Economics from Willamette.

These new members will join current PLF Directors Molly Jo Mullen (Portland), Tom Newhouse (Public Member, Portland), Megan Livermore (Eugene), Holly Mitchell (Portland), Susan Marmaduke (Portland), and Gina Anne Johnnie (Salem).
We extend our warmest thanks to outgoing board members Saville W. Easley (Portland), Robert S. Raschio (Canyon City), and Patrick Hocking (Public Member, Medford) for their years of excellent service. 

More News »